top of page
  • Writer's pictureErin Grace Thomson

Being Sick,

There are no simple ailments to cure my body,

no doctor can seem to heal me, but here I stay: wandering.

In chronic, nerve-numbing pain that pulls me into briar rose’s sleep.

A blood river with coiled nerves; a ferry woman transporting pain.

Even sleep cannot save me from the woman’s curse,

and it seems only I can feel my body withering away.


Nothing can cure me from genetics wrath,

But am I supposed to be cured? It seems like the universe is asking me to

suffer;

To be a spokesperson for my body until I find a miracle worker.

My body feels like someone set a bomb off, only it is moving in slow motion.

I’ve been bleeding for fifteen days.

I live in slowness.


Tired

Even when my body begins to shut down, I am just thrown temporary solutions.

Not a resolution, no hope.

Even the words on a page begin to look skewed.

Have you ever been in so much pain that you lose vision¿

Only to play a game with the gods, to see if one day you will regain clarity.


- Having endometriosis, kidney stones, and chronic pain.


Artwork by Halsey


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page