top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ. Faith Malicdem

Megan Quirk: PieFace Writer Introduction


 

Megan was the very first contributor to fill out our fancy little 'Contact' form on the site itself, making herself available to contribute in any way she can. She'll be writing for the column regularly with poetry and prose! You can read some of her work here: @manicpixiepoems. Meet Megan, and give her a warm welcome!


What drew you to the art you craft?

words have always been really beautiful and calming to me; growing up when i would get stressed i’d trace words on my legs with my fingers absentmindedly. i think writing has always been how i’ve looked to express myself because it’s not always to say it out loud.


What do you typically make your craft about? Do you have a specific style of crafting your work? A specific format?

my poetry functions probably unhealthily as therapy for me so a lot of it (or all of it call me egotistical) is usually about me and how i feel. for prose i usually do much more fiction based work while still incorporating some of my own feelings.



Do you have any creators of any kind who you look up to? Have they heavily influenced your work? In what way?

for poets i really enjoyed blythe blair and mary lambert’s collections, as well as madisen kuhn who i would say inspired my work. artists like mitski are not a poets but her lyrics have definitely inspired a lot of poems (and are also just beautiful), lorde who played a big part in my coming of age, and regina spektor who i grew up listening to.


Do you see a future for yourself in your craft? If so, in what way(s)? If not, what are your general life aspirations?


i want to publish all sorts of written work, starting with the poetry collection i already have. i also want to be a screenwriter for my career! i cant (or don’t want to) see a future where i’m not writing.


Which tends to take reign in your craft: your brain or your heart?

i do everything emotionally and my writing is no different.


How are your creative works set apart from others?

i only write if i feel something really strongly. nothing i’ve written has ever been incredibly hard to write or taken a long time because it was just how i was feeling at the time.


What do you hope to contribute to Pie Face?

i’d love to contribute poetry & prose, but also non fiction personal pieces!

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page