top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ. Faith Malicdem

Grace Hwang: Illustrator Introduction

Grace is one of the first friends I got the privilege of getting to know during my first year at college. She sat to my right in our Intro to College Writing class for two semesters in a row, and not only did I get to know her, but I soon became familiar with her passion for writing, creating, and her exceptional knack at mustering up drawings of K-Pop stars and anime characters she loved. I knew she *had* to be apart of the team one way or another. Everyone, please be sure to give Grace a warm welcome!

 

What drew you to the art you craft?

Drawing and painting have always been a natural way for me to express myself. I've grown up moving around my entire life. My room, my friends, my school would change, but art was a constant. I've experienced a lot of cultural differences, and I love the universality of art and its ability to transcend languages and cultures.


What do you typically make your craft about? Do you have a specific style of crafting your work? A specific format?

I've always liked drawing portraits and working with colors. During the last two years of high school, I focused on the idea of home. Out of that experience, I think my art has shifted more to the general idea of warmth. I work with a wide range of mediums, including but not limited to graphite, ink, watercolor, acrylics, and more recently, digital art.


Do you have any creators of any kind who you look up to? Have they heavily influenced your work? In what way?

I love impressionism, and the classic artists that I admire the most are Claude Monet, Maximilien Luce, and Vincent Van Gogh. More current (instagram) artists that I admire, who I will list by their handles, are kelogsloops, qinniart, laurenbrandyart, lenarivo, and sarucatepes. I love the way that they work with colors and light, and I've tried to incorporate that into my own artwork. Particularly with impressionists, they have a very loose but accurate way to capturing the feeling of a moment, which I am working on as well.


Do you see a future for yourself in your craft? If so, in what way(s)? If not, what are your general life aspirations?

I think that art will always be a part of my life and will end up doing something in it. I'm currently a creative writing major, and I love storytelling as well, so I'm looking into being a graphic novelist.


Which tends to take reign in your craft: your brain or your heart?

I like to have a strong balance between practicing technical skills and expressiveness. A lot of the times, I'll think of an idea and if I'm drawn to it, I'll logically think through the steps and elements that I want to add into the piece.


How are your creative works set apart from others?

I believe that my works have a sense of clarity and calm to them, while maintaining a sense of naturalness and spontaneity. I try to achieve this through looser line art and tranquil colors.


What do you hope to contribute to Pie Face?

I'd like to share my unique experiences of cultural differences, midnight shower thoughts, and personal life experiences.



Keep an eye out for Grace's contributions!! Love you Grace :')

27 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page