top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ. Faith Malicdem

Lorelei Taybi: PieFace Illustrator Introduction

By J. Faith Malicdem // Dec. 15, 2019

 

Yup, you read the title correctly! We're forming a team of illustrators as well! Lorelei is a dear friend of mine, and stands as one of the most talented artists I know. A few days ago, I noticed that her sketches are on scraps of paper scattered all over my dorm room wall and senior year agenda. It then dawned on me: I should invite THE Lorelei Taybi to collaborate with me for PieFace! Her artwork needs to be shown off! So, here we are. It's my pleasure to introduce the ever-so-talented Miss Lorelei (LuLu) Taybi. *cue applause*


What drew you to illustrating/animating/drawing?

As a kid growing up hooked on social media, being able to scroll through seemingly endless drawings on DeviantArt and Tumblr was the most fascinating thing in the world. I was kind of immersed in all of this awesome art from a young age, and it made me think “hey, I want to be able to do stuff like that!” The constant availability of work in different styles built a great foundation for my art, and showed me all the different paths that I could follow.


How would you describe your style?

The eternal question! Right now I’d say I’m drawing a lot of stuff that’s focused on conveying emotions through the expressions of characters, or the general atmosphere of scenes. Mostly, that plays with exaggeration of features or a focus on colors and lighting. Generally, I’d describe my style as linework-based and pretty loose and fast.


How long have you been crafting art?

I’d always kind of doodled a lot as a kid, but I didn’t start to take drawing seriously until around eighth grade. A lot of work that I turned in for school was absolutely covered in random anime-inspired fanart… I am sorry to any teachers who had to witness that.


With what mediums do you typically craft your art with?

I’ll either draw digitally with Clip Studio Paint or just use a sketchbook. I think at the end of the day, I’m a sucker for pen and paper.


Do you have any artists you find yourself drawing inspiration from? Have they heavily influenced your work? In what way?

To name a few: Mabel Ye, Jillian Tamaki, and Vaughn Parish. I’d like to think that the fluidity and direction they can all depict in just a few simple lines is something I can show in my own art. I still have a long way to go, though.


Do you see a future for yourself in art? If so, in what way(s)? If not, what are your general life aspirations?

I feel like a lot of my future is still up in the air, and I’m uncertain if I’ll end up with a career that’s centered around art. Right now I’m toying with the idea of civil service work in Sacramento, but who knows? I would be happy just to keep drawing as a hobby, though, and I know I’ll never fully leave art behind.


What do you hope to contribute to PieFace?

You know the saying that a picture is a thousand words? I think that’s bullshit, and any given image can be about two hundred words at best. But if I can use those two hundred words to better get across the content or tone of a piece, and catch a potential reader’s attention, I’d be really happy.


You can check out Lorelei's work here!

26 views0 comments

Kommentare


bottom of page