top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ. Faith Malicdem

Kait Joyner: PieFace Photographer + Writer Introduction

By J. Faith Malicdem // Dec. 18, 2019

 

Friends! Meet Kait, a fellow Emersonian with a good eye for all things aesthetically pleasing, and a knack for all things emotional and introspective, which are PieFace's underlying and recurring themes, so it's no surprise that I'm more than thrilled to have her join the team! Kait DM'd me, laying her abilities out in front of her, allowing me to pick and choose which of her many talents I was interested in incorporating to the PieFace repertoire. So, without further ado, meet Kait, our very first photographer + writer-specialized contributor!


What drew you to writing/photography/the art you craft?

I have loved to write and take pictures since elementary school. My parents got me a cheap, pink digital camera when I was 7. I took it with me everywhere. I loved the freedom of taking photos; the endless amount of angles, the different types of lighting, the falling of shadows upon subjects all enthralled me. As for writing, the desire to write blossomed from within me. I was a deeply introspective child. As I grew, I learned more about the world and myself. Photography and writing allowed me to process my own feelings; they gave me a sense of autonomy, and they grounded me while simultaneously empowering me. They still do. Over the past few years, freelance photography and the art of spoken word have completely transformed me.


What do you typically write about? Do you have a specific style of writing? A specific format?

I usually write about queer love, feminism, politics, nostalgia, youth, and miscellaneous moments I find to be beautiful in their mundanity. I write about things that happened to me, but I also write about moments I've only lived in my head. My writing is generally flowery and poetic, even if it does not take on the form of a poem. I'm all about figurative language and symbolism, as well as imagery.


How would you describe your photography?

I have always struggled to classify my photography. It's more abstract than it is straightforward, but it isn't completely abstract, either. In the past, I've described my photography as ever-shifting impressions of love, color & living. I'm often told that my photos make people feel nostalgic for moments they have not even lived, or that I capture the beauty of youth in my photos.


Do you have any authors/journalists/poets/critics/photographers of any kind who you look up to? Have they heavily influenced your work? In what way?

Ashley Armitage is my favorite photographer. Her use of color and light is really revolutionary to me, and I draw a lot of inspiration from her work in that regard. I also love Frances Weger, Tyler Mitchell and Petra Collins. It's always color and light that I pay attention. As for writing, I really look up to André Aciman. The writing style in his novel Call Me By Your Name has influenced me immensely.


Do you see a future for yourself in writing/photography? If so, in what way(s)? If not, what are your general life aspirations?

I do see a future for myself in both photography and writing! As a Writing, Literature & Publishing major with a Photography minor, I hope to work on magazines, write novels and poetry collections, and take photos for a living as well. I've never been able to pick just one thing - I think being a writer helps me to be a better photographer and vice versa.


Which tends to take reign in your writing/photography: your brain or your heart?

I have always created from my heart rather than my head. Though the head and the heart are very connected in my opinion, I have always believed that the best work comes from the intensity, spontaneity and fluidity of the heart.


How are your creative works set apart from others?

I think my work is earnest. It always originates from a place of love, even if it masquerades as rage or pain or nostalgia. I really commit myself to my visions, and I won't put my work out there unless I believe it's done justice to the feelings I'm trying to convey. I think my work can show people different perspectives than they are normally exposed to. I can elicit emotions from people that they did not even know they could feel.


What do you hope to contribute to Pie Face?

I hope to contribute raw emotion, brutal truths, vulnerability, softness, and light. I won't know until it hits me what form those things will come in, but I know that I have all those things to offer.


51 views0 comments

留言


bottom of page