top of page
  • Writer's pictureJ. Faith Malicdem

Brynn O'Connor: PieFace Writer Introduction


PieFaces! Give a warm welcome to our newest writer, Brynn! Brynn and I were in a major-required class together last semester, and were grouped together to tackle a project that highlighted the development of an innovative journalistic media outlet that could be trusted and contributed to by credible writers and reporters. In our short time working together, I was able to catch on to her drive and passion for writing, and when she reached out about PieFace, I was ecstatic. While Brynn has already dipped her toes in traditional reporting, she will be venturing into a mindset of colloquial, journal-entry-esque writing right here in the Oven. Be on the lookout for her pieces!



What drew you to the art you craft? I began writing short stories at a young age (purely for fun) and over the years my writing has enhanced. It's become my strongest and proudest talent!


What do you typically make your craft about? Do you have a specific style of crafting your work? A specific format? I enjoy writing essay-like pieces pertaining to topics I'm passionate about, or things I'm going through. My essays are personal and at times witty. I don't have one particular style that I stick to. As a Journalism major I've written a few News pieces that are very different than my personal work.


Do you have any creators of any kind who you look up to? Have they heavily influenced your work? In what way? Not anyone in particular, I haven't read any non-academic pieces in a long time, however that is something I'd love to start to do. I do however admire the work of any Op-ed or Blog writer.


Do you see a future for yourself in your craft? If so, in what way(s)? If not, what are your general life aspirations? I'm unsure of what I'd like to do in the future, but I know it will be something in the writing field. I love to write, I just haven't yet decided what form of writing I'd like to pursue as a career.


Which tends to take reign in your craft: your brain or your heart? Emotion


How are your creative works set apart from others? My pieces are reflective of extensive journal entries, and I feel that readers could connect and find comfort within the laid back and natural approach I take when writing.


What do you hope to contribute to Pie Face? I hope to come up with monthly essays that are personal to me; whether it be about my personal life, current thoughts, etc. I'd say they are similar to a "blog post."

31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page