top of page
  • Writer's pictureMarieska Luzada

stuck in a box

i didn’t know i had the power.


a littler me stuck in a box,

who spent her hours outside of reading logs and math worksheets,

with her jet black ponytail and plaid capris,

dulling the tips of crayons and making picture books,

for no one to see.


a littler me stuck in a box,

who knew every hannah montana song by heart,

sang dancing queen at the top of her lungs,

and treated dcoms like her children,

for no one to hear.


a littler me stuck in a box,

who sat silent in every class period,

surrounded by gossiping girls and under armour boys,

a height just short of five feet and lips permanently zipped,

for everyone to judge.


when would i give in?

when would i begin to feel at ease?

when would i feel comfortable?


i had enough of being cramped.

i had enough of being trapped.

i had enough of being comfortable.


it wasn’t until a year into the teens

that i ripped open the box,

and allowed myself to see

what i had missed all these years

that i had been comfortable with.


i stepped out of a box,

and into a magic realm of creativity,

where i had the ability to create what i wanted,

for my creations to be showcased

to the entire world.


i stepped out of a box,

and onto a stage,

where i would sing, act, and dance,

for my chance to entertain and inspire

people itching for more.


i stepped out of a box,

and into a new world,

where i felt seen, appreciated, and loved,

for my ability to continue thriving

and straying far away from comfort.


i allowed my creations to be seen.

i allowed my voice to be heard.

i allowed my presence to be noticed.


i didn’t know i had the power.

and now that i do,

i’ll never be stoppable.


read more about Marieska here

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cryface

bottom of page